Yamas and Niyamas

The five yamas ask practitioners to avoid violence, lying, stealing, wasting energy, and possessiveness, while the five niyamas ask us to embrace cleanliness and contentment, to purify ourselves through heat, to continually study and observe our habits, and to surrender to something greater than ourselves.

While these seem like no brainers, they are actually quiet difficult. Ahisma is the first Yama meaning to not commit violence. That even includes negative self talk. You are committing violence against yourself.

Lying is the second Yama. It’s quiet hard as well. It not just about big lies, even the little ones. Lying to yourself, lying to your friend to not hurt her feelings.

Stealing is our 3rd one. You would think something as basic as not taking something that doesn’t belong to you is self explanatory, but what about stealing time from ourselves, not taking the time to take care of yourself.

We will dicuss the last 2 yamas tomorrow.

Published by Namaste Medic

Seeker of joy and adventure!

%d bloggers like this: