Four Aspects of True Love

In the Buddhist faith, there are four elements of love that make it ‘true’ love. These elements must combine to make love true and long-lasting.

They are not magical or even spiritual concepts, they are simply behaviors and virtues that we must hold in order to make love strong.

These four elements of love are easy to grasp, but they make a relationship much more joyful and fulfilling.

Maitri is the first aspect. It basically means kindness, benevolence. You have the desire to make someone happy, but you also have the ability to make them unhappy. So many times the way we love someone is not the way they should be loved, and we end up making them unhappy instead of happy. I’m sure you can think of many situations that loving someone has made them unhappy.

You can truly gain insight into the person you love by understanding them, by understanding who they are as a person, By understanding the person you love, you will, in turn, learn how to love them.

Take the time to watch your love, just be attentive to them. Listen to their words and ask them about their hopes and ambitions, the more you learn about your love helps to open the door to understanding them, and how to love them in a meaningful and fulfilling way.

Meditate, spend some time thinking of how you can actively listen and be attentive to your love. Try to catch the moments in the stillness while they are doing something they love. When you ask about their hopes and dreams make sure you are really listening. You don’t have to make comments on them just acknowledge them.

Published by Namaste Medic

Seeker of joy and adventure!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: